The Incredible World of Photography. Ruth and Peter Herzog Collection

Intro

The Incredible World of Photography The Ruth and Peter Herzog Collection 18.07. - 04.10.2020

A summer’s day on Coney Island in Brooklyn. Is this a snapshot of a private outing or a deliberate aesthetic arrangement? What at first seems spontaneous looks staged on closer inspection.

We don’t know very much about this picture. Who are the people in it, and what are they gazing at out in the distance? We can only guess the answers, just as we can only guess about the anonymous photographer.

Unknown, Bathers (Coney Island), 1950–60. Hand-colored silver gelatin print, 17.7 x 12.6 cm © as collection by Jacques Herzog und Pierre de Meuron Kabinett, Basel. All rights reserved.

The Coney Island image was colored by hand after it was taken. Its bright palette brings to mind the work of Andy Warhol. The American artist used photos as templates for his silkscreens. In this image of Chinese leader Mao Zedong, the unusual coloring transforms a familiar photo of the Communist Party chairman and makes it strange. Does the process turn the dictator into an icon of Pop Art? Or hold him up to ridicule?

Andy Warhol, Mao, 1972. 91.4 x 91.4 cm, Silkscreen, Kunstmuseum Basel © Pro Litteris.

When Pop Art began to emerge in the late 1950s, it drew on images from everyday life in order to transform them in radical ways. Artists used pictures of packaged food, beverages, cigarettes, cars, and other items of mass consumerism. They also drew visual material from advertising, the press, and cinema.

Pop artists experimented with new materials, loud colors, and serial repetition in order to give this imagery an overall effect of unfamiliarity. Their works comment ironically on the consumerism of postwar society. Andy Warhol was one of the movement’s best-known representatives.

The artist creates reality. The photographer sees it.

Karl Pawek, 1963 Cited after: Karl Pawek, Das optische Zeitalter (Olten/Freiburg im Breisgau, 1963), p. 58.

The Coney Island photograph is part of the Fotosammlung Ruth und Peter Herzog (photography collection), whereas Warhol’s portrait belongs to the Kunstmuseum Basel. The two pictures meet in the exhibition The Incredible World of Photography. Seeing the two collections in dialogue opens up new perspectives on the relationship between photography and the visual arts, vistas that are as electric as they are fertile.

Load complete Digitorial

The Incredible World of Photography. Collection Ruth et Peter Herzog

Intro

The Incredible World of Photography Collection Ruth et Peter Herzog 18.07. - 04.10.2020

Un jour d’été à Coney Island – simple photo de vacances ou esthétique travaillée ? En regardant attentivement, ce qui à premiére vue ressemble à un instantané pourrait être une mise en scène.

Nous n’en savons pas beaucoup sur cette photographie. Qui sont ces personnes et que cherche leur regard au loin ? Nous ne pouvons faire que des suppositions. Nous ignorons également qui en est l’auteur.

Unknown, Bathers (Coney Island), 1950–60. Hand-colored silver gelatin print, 17.7 x 12.6 cm © as a collection by Jacques Herzog und Pierre de Meuron Kabinett, Basel. All rights reserved.

La photographie de Coney Island a fait l’objet d’une colorisation ultérieure dont la gamme chromatique n’est pas sans rappeler l’art d’Andy Warhol. Pour ses sérigraphies, l’artiste américain se servait de photographies comme modèles. À travers des teintes inhabituelles, il dénature la photo du président du Parti chinois, Mao Zedong. Cette modification fait-elle du dictateur chinois une icône du pop art ou le tourne-t-elle en ridicule ?

Andy Warhol, Mao, 1972. 91.4 x 91.4 cm, Silkscreen, Kunstmuseum Basel © Pro Litteris.

Apparu à la fin des années 1950, le pop art se sert d’images du quotidien pour les transformer radicalement. Les artistes utilisent des images d’aliments, de boissons, de cigarettes, de voitures et d’autres produits de masse. Ils font également usage de visuels publicitaires, de presse et du cinéma.

Les artistes dénaturent les images en choississant d’autres matériaux, des couleurs vives ou en produisant des répétitions sérielles. Leurs œuvres commentent avec ironie la société de consommation de l’après-guerre. Andy Warhol figure parmi les représentants les plus célèbres de ce style.

L’artiste crée la réalité, le photographe la voit.

Karl Pawek, 1963 Cité d'apres: Karl Pawek, Das optische Zeitalter, Walter-Verlag, 1963, p. 58.

La photographie de Coney Island figure dans la Fotosammlung Ruth und Peter Herzog (collection de photographies), tandis que l’œuvre de Warhol se trouve au Kunstmuseum Basel. Les deux œuvres se rencontrent dans l’exposition The Incredible World of Photography. Le dialogue entre les deux collections ouvre de nouvelles perspectives sur la confrontation à la fois tendue et fructueuse entre les beaux-arts et la photographie.

Chargement complet du Digitorial